Fawn Earphones

A very good poet–I recommend his site

Elan Mudrow

2f0aa98f145dfddd252c0fae4f4c5c59

A fawn ran into the road

Losing its stealth, naked

Stumbling over the yellow line

Hooves slipping on wet pavement.

I’m travelling inside a Zipcar

Hyundai Elantra Sedan

Named “Irene”

Controlling the accelerator with ease

Warp speed for a human

Even on the curves

Mixtape masterpiece,

very loud, Blasting

Thinking what a nice forest this is.

As light years of wilderness

Blur by me

The fawn and I

Miss each other by a split-second.

I stop, turn off the music

Roll down the window

Very, very quiet-like.

The forest sings to me

Wind, leaves, the movement of life

I look for the fawn

Trying to pick her out

Of ferns, firs, and moss

Off the road, but…..

“Irene” wants to keep going

Her engine and heater

A constant reminder of

What I control, as if I’ve lost control

Or lost the awareness

Of the world being something

I’m not driving…

View original post 23 more words

Leave a Reply

